Skip to Content

BIF Selects New Board, Officers

 |  News and Announcements

The Beef Improvement Federation (BIF) announced new directors and officers June 3 during the group’s annual symposium in Las Cruces, New Mexico. Joe Epperly, Albion, Nebraska, was introduced as the 2022-23 BIF president during the Friday awards luncheon. Kevin Shultz, Haviland, Kansas, is the new vice president.

Directors reelected to serve on the BIF board were producers Epperly and Gordon Hodges, Hamptonville, North Carolina. Ken Odde, Pollock, South Dakota, was elected as an at-large director. Jackie Atkins, American Simmental Association, was reelected as a breed association representative, and Megan Slater, American Gelbvieh Association, was elected to her first term as a breed representative.

More than 300 beef producers, academia and industry representatives attended the organization’s 54th Annual Research Symposium and Convention in Las Cruces, New Mexico. BIF’s mission is to help improve the industry by promoting greater acceptance of beef cattle performance evaluation.

For more information about this year’s symposium, including award winners and video archives of the symposium, visit

The 2023 BIF Convention and Research Symposium will be July 3-6 in Calgary, Alberta, Canada.

2022-2023 Beef Improvement Federation Board of Directors are (seated, from left) Joe Epperly, Albion, Neb., president; Kevin Schultz, Haviland, Kan., vice president; Matt Perrier, Eureka, Kan., past president; Darrh Bullock, University of Kentucky, BIF eastern region secretary; Mark Enns, Colorado State University, BIF western region secretary; Warren Snelling, USDA Ag Research Service representative; Matt Spangler, USDA Extension Service representative; and Bob Weaber, Kansas State University, BIF executive director. Back row (l to r) are: Joy Reznicek, West Point, Miss.; Megan Slater, American Gelbvieh Association; Gordon Jones, Lafayette, Tenn.; Robert Williams, Post Falls, Idaho, historian; Matt Woolfolk, American Shorthorn Association; Shane Bedwell. American Hereford Association; Hal Nixdorff, Canadian Beef Breeds Council representative; Don Trimmer, NAAB representative; Ken Odde, Pollock, South Dakota; Troy Marshall, St. Joseph, Missouri; Josh White, National Cattlemen’s Beef Association; Kelli Retallick, American Angus Association; and Kajal Devani, Canadian Angus Association. Not pictured are John Irvine, Manhattan, Kan.; Gordon Hodges, Hamptonville, N.C., Jackie Atkins, American Simmental Association, and Megan Rolf, Kansas State University, central region secretary.

Back to top